Believe In Change


Breakdown or Breakthrough
April 12, 2007, 2:22 pm
Filed under: motivation, personal growth

The Collective’s coaching call last night was again a very inspiring and informative one.  The topic of discussion was breakdowns vs. breakthroughs. Basically, how do you take a problem, or a potentially negative situation and turn it around into an opportunity for growth.

Today I had a chance to put the concept into action. I had a conversation with a client where he aired a few criticisms/complaints. He did it in a very constructive way so we were able to have a good, productive conversation. But I could easily get defensive about what he said, and react from a fear or anger based perspective. I actually think what he said was about 75% accurate, and I’m going to use this as an opportunity for a breakthrough – a chance to provide a better service to him, and improve my system of doing things so that service to all clients will improve. It’s an opportunity to reevaluate certain things, and I’m also fortunate to have a good relationship with this client, to where he can be honest about things, and hopefully I will have the chance to show solid progress based on his feedback.  In this case I can clearly see the opportunity for a breakthrough as I am now more focused on providing a good service and helping clients.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

